Resolution to Stand by the Millionaires Tax

The Occupy Education Northern California General Assembly voted on Saturday, March 17 to stand by the Millionaires Tax and keep gathering signatures to put the tax initiative on the November ballot.


The fight to pass the Millionaires Tax this November continues.

Occupy Education — the coalition responsible for the March 1 Day of Action, the 99 Mile March, and the March 5 Occupy the Capitol action — stands by the Millionaires Tax and calls on the California Federation of Teachers and the Restoring California coalition to stick by the most popular — and most winnable — initiative for refunding California.
The Millionaires Tax remains the only proposal that would take steps to permanently fund public education and services — and it would do this without regressive sales taxes. We reject the notion of “shared sacrifice” — we have already sacrificed more than our share. The 99% should not be asked to pay for the crisis caused by the 1%.

The so-called “compromise” pushed by Governor Brown is a ploy to prevent the Millionaires Tax from getting on the ballot. There is no guarantee that the signatures for the “compromise” can be collected in time. Jerry Brown continues to collect signatures for his original proposal. We too must continue our campaign.

The Millionaires Tax has galvanized thousands of students, teachers, workers, and community members to build a historic mass movement capable of transforming our state. The 1% are on the defensive, now is not the time to back down!

We are committed to continuing signature gathering and fundraising to ensure that the Millionaires Tax gets on the ballot and wins in November.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

97,912 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>